BRINGING A DOG FROMAustralia to Singapore
Dog · Moving
Bringing a cat instead?No quarantine when the paperwork is in order. Needs residence period, microchip, rabies vaccination, other vaccinations, parasite treatment, minimum age, health certificate, pet ownership course, pet licence, import permit, customs declaration, registered agent, advance notice to the authority, transport rules and arrival inspection.
Always confirm with the destination's official authority and your airline before travelling.
Entry requirements
No rabies vaccine, no titer test, no quarantine. Needs a Singapore cat/dog licence and an AVS import licence before travel, the AVS health certificate endorsed by the exporting government vet within 7 days of export, a captain's declaration from the airline, 6 months' residence in a Schedule I country, and an AVS-recognised pet agent for clearance at Changi.
Continuously resident in the country of export or another Schedule I country for at least 6 months before export, or since birth, or since being imported directly from Singapore. A pet that spent less than 6 months in a Schedule I country after living elsewhere is treated as coming from the earlier country.
DETAILS +DETAILS −
Continuously resident in the country of export or another Schedule I country for at least 6 months before export, or since birth, or since being imported directly from Singapore. A pet that spent less than 6 months in a Schedule I country after living elsewhere is treated as coming from the earlier country.
ISO 11784 or ISO 11785 Annex A microchip; its number must appear on all vaccination and treatment records and is checked by the vet within 7 days before export. With a non-ISO chip the owner must bring a reader to the point of entry.
DETAILS +DETAILS −
ISO 11784 or ISO 11785 Annex A microchip; its number must appear on all vaccination and treatment records and is checked by the vet within 7 days before export. With a non-ISO chip the owner must bring a reader to the point of entry.
Not required for Schedule I.
DETAILS +DETAILS −
Not required for Schedule I.
Source:National Parks Board — Animal & Veterinary Service (AVS) (opens official site: Importing dogs and cats)· checked 24 Sep 2026
Distemper (CDV), adenovirus type 1 (CAV-1) and parvovirus type 2 (CPV-2), per the vaccine manufacturer, at least 14 days before export. Puppies under 16 weeks: at least 2 doses, the first no earlier than 6 weeks of age, the second at least 2 weeks before export.
DETAILS +DETAILS −
Distemper (CDV), adenovirus type 1 (CAV-1) and parvovirus type 2 (CPV-2), per the vaccine manufacturer, at least 14 days before export. Puppies under 16 weeks: at least 2 doses, the first no earlier than 6 weeks of age, the second at least 2 weeks before export.
External parasites (fleas and ticks) and internal parasites (nematodes and cestodes), both 2–7 days before export; product, active ingredient and date go on the health certificate.
DETAILS +DETAILS −
External parasites (fleas and ticks) and internal parasites (nematodes and cestodes), both 2–7 days before export; product, active ingredient and date go on the health certificate.
At least 12 weeks old at export.
DETAILS +DETAILS −
At least 12 weeks old at export.
AVS's own certificate template (in the Schedule I PDF). Sections I–III completed by a government-approved or official vet (identity, residence, vaccines, parasite treatments, not pregnant, not a prohibited breed, clinical exam); Section IV endorsed by an official government veterinarian of the exporting country, who also certifies that no rabies case has been reported in that country for at least 24 months. Dated no more than 7 days before export; valid 7 days. Travel with the original certificate and the original vaccination certificate bearing the microchip number.
DETAILS +DETAILS −
AVS's own certificate template (in the Schedule I PDF). Sections I–III completed by a government-approved or official vet (identity, residence, vaccines, parasite treatments, not pregnant, not a prohibited breed, clinical exam); Section IV endorsed by an official government veterinarian of the exporting country, who also certifies that no rabies case has been reported in that country for at least 24 months. Dated no more than 7 days before export; valid 7 days. Travel with the original certificate and the original vaccination certificate bearing the microchip number.
First-time cat/dog licence applicants must first complete AVS's free online Pet Ownership Course (about 20–30 minutes; foreigners without Singpass register manually with a passport number).
DETAILS +DETAILS −
First-time cat/dog licence applicants must first complete AVS's free online Pet Ownership Course (about 20–30 minutes; foreigners without Singpass register manually with a passport number).
Source:National Parks Board — Animal & Veterinary Service (AVS) (opens official site: Pet Ownership Course)· checked 04 Oct 2026
Singapore cat/dog licence on the Pet Animal Licensing System (pals.avs.gov.sg) BEFORE applying for the import licence; the approved licence is attached to the import licence application.
DETAILS +DETAILS −
Singapore cat/dog licence on the Pet Animal Licensing System (pals.avs.gov.sg) BEFORE applying for the import licence; the approved licence is attached to the import licence application.
AVS "Licence to Import/Export/Transship Non-Food Animals, Birds, Eggs and Biologics (personal)" via the GoBusiness Licensing Portal. S$50 (issued 2 working days after a complete application) or S$100 express (1 working day). Valid 90 days from issue, no extension. Mixed/cross-breed dogs: attach a colour photo of face and body. Must be obtained before shipment and shown at check-in.
DETAILS +DETAILS −
AVS "Licence to Import/Export/Transship Non-Food Animals, Birds, Eggs and Biologics (personal)" via the GoBusiness Licensing Portal. S$50 (issued 2 working days after a complete application) or S$100 express (1 working day). Valid 90 days from issue, no extension. Mixed/cross-breed dogs: attach a colour photo of face and body. Must be obtained before shipment and shown at check-in.
Source:National Parks Board — Animal & Veterinary Service (AVS) (opens official site: Importing dogs and cats)· checked 24 Sep 2026
Moving to Singapore (new residents, returning citizens/PRs): apply to Singapore Customs for GST relief at least 5 working days before arrival (pet owned ≥3 months, imported within 6 months of your first arrival, not sold within 3 months). Owner on the same flight: online application form; pet travelling separately: Declaration of Facts, then a GST-relief permit.
DETAILS +DETAILS −
Moving to Singapore (new residents, returning citizens/PRs): apply to Singapore Customs for GST relief at least 5 working days before arrival (pet owned ≥3 months, imported within 6 months of your first arrival, not sold within 3 months). Owner on the same flight: online application form; pet travelling separately: Declaration of Facts, then a GST-relief permit.
- · moving to Singapore (new residents, returning citizens/PRs)
Source:Singapore Customs (opens official site: Importing Personal Pets as Part of a Change of Residence)· checked 04 Oct 2026
Temporary visit (non-residents who take the pet out again within 6 months) or Singapore residents returning from a trip with the same pet: apply for GST relief at least 5 working days before arrival.
DETAILS +DETAILS −
Temporary visit (non-residents who take the pet out again within 6 months) or Singapore residents returning from a trip with the same pet: apply for GST relief at least 5 working days before arrival.
- · temporary visit (non-resident taking the pet out again within 6 months) or Singapore resident returning from a trip with the same pet
Source:Singapore Customs (opens official site: With Personal Pets for Overseas Travel)· checked 04 Oct 2026
Otherwise (or if relief is refused): a Customs In-Payment (GST) permit — GST paid on the pet's CIF value — obtained before arrival; valid 10 working days from approval.
DETAILS +DETAILS −
Otherwise (or if relief is refused): a Customs In-Payment (GST) permit — GST paid on the pet's CIF value — obtained before arrival; valid 10 working days from approval.
- · no GST relief applies, or relief is refused
Source:National Parks Board — Animal & Veterinary Service (AVS) (opens official site: Importing dogs and cats)· checked 24 Sep 2026
Appoint an AVS-recognised pet agent before arrival; since 1 April 2026 only these agents may carry out import clearance at Changi Animal & Plant Quarantine (CAPQ) and deliver the pet home. Owners may no longer enter the Changi Airfreight Centre. (Stated for CAPQ/air arrivals; not stated for Tuas land arrivals.)
DETAILS +DETAILS −
Appoint an AVS-recognised pet agent before arrival; since 1 April 2026 only these agents may carry out import clearance at Changi Animal & Plant Quarantine (CAPQ) and deliver the pet home. Owners may no longer enter the Changi Airfreight Centre. (Stated for CAPQ/air arrivals; not stated for Tuas land arrivals.)
Book the arrival inspection on AVS eServices (avs-eservices.nparks.gov.sg) with the import licence number and flight details — at least 5 working days before arrival per the Veterinary Conditions (the web pages say 5 days). Without a booking the inspection costs S$133 per hour.
DETAILS +DETAILS −
Book the arrival inspection on AVS eServices (avs-eservices.nparks.gov.sg) with the import licence number and flight details — at least 5 working days before arrival per the Veterinary Conditions (the web pages say 5 days). Without a booking the inspection costs S$133 per hour.
Captain's declaration (AVS template, signed by the captain or authorised airline staff of every flight): the pet was loaded in the exporting country, stayed in a tamper-proof sealed cage and had no contact with other animals; if landed en route it stayed in its crate within the airport. A change of aircraft needs prior AVS permission. If the seal is broken at airport security, airport/airline staff complete a re-sealing declaration. Transit through a Schedule III country is allowed with this declaration. Hand it in at the arrival inspection.
DETAILS +DETAILS −
Captain's declaration (AVS template, signed by the captain or authorised airline staff of every flight): the pet was loaded in the exporting country, stayed in a tamper-proof sealed cage and had no contact with other animals; if landed en route it stayed in its crate within the airport. A change of aircraft needs prior AVS permission. If the seal is broken at airport security, airport/airline staff complete a re-sealing declaration. Transit through a Schedule III country is allowed with this declaration. Hand it in at the arrival inspection.
IATA Live Animals Regulations container. Pets flying in the cabin must also bring a rigid IATA hard crate for the transfer to CAPQ; soft bags are not accepted.
DETAILS +DETAILS −
IATA Live Animals Regulations container. Pets flying in the cabin must also bring a rigid IATA hard crate for the transfer to CAPQ; soft bags are not accepted.
Source:National Parks Board — Animal & Veterinary Service (AVS) (opens official site: Importing dogs and cats)· checked 24 Sep 2026
By air: cabin pets are handed to the Lost & Found counter in the arrival hall (before immigration); all pets go to CAPQ, where AVS checks import licence, health certificate, cat/dog licence, vaccination records, captain's declaration and the GST permit/relief, scans the chip and examines the pet. Released to the agent if healthy. By land: inspection at Tuas Checkpoint. CAPQ hours Mon–Tue 9am–5pm, Wed–Fri 9am–8pm, closed weekends and public holidays; pets arriving after hours wait with the ground handler until the next working day.
DETAILS +DETAILS −
By air: cabin pets are handed to the Lost & Found counter in the arrival hall (before immigration); all pets go to CAPQ, where AVS checks import licence, health certificate, cat/dog licence, vaccination records, captain's declaration and the GST permit/relief, scans the chip and examines the pet. Released to the agent if healthy. By land: inspection at Tuas Checkpoint. CAPQ hours Mon–Tue 9am–5pm, Wed–Fri 9am–8pm, closed weekends and public holidays; pets arriving after hours wait with the ground handler until the next working day.
- Preparation time 3 weeks assumes an adult pet already living 6+ months in a Schedule I country: chip and core vaccines on day 0, export no earlier than day 14, plus the licences (course + PALS licence, import licence in 1–2 working days), GST relief (≥5 working days) and the e-booking (≥5 working days before arrival). A pet that has lived in a Schedule I country for less than 6 months cannot use this rule.
- Residence example from AVS: a pet living in the UAE (Schedule III) that spends less than 6 months in the UK is still a Schedule III import. — National Parks Board — Animal & Veterinary Service (AVS)
- The certificate template also accepts residence "since being imported directly from Singapore" (Section II (b)). — National Parks Board — Animal & Veterinary Service (AVS)
No quarantine when the paperwork is in order
If the pet does not meet the rules: detained, returned to the country of export or destroyed at the discretion of the Director-General; the importer also commits an offence (fine up to S$10,000 and/or up to 12 months' imprisonment)
Timeline
Working out your dates…
Documents
One paper per requirement above; carry originals. 0 of 11 ready.
Official fees
Fees the authorities publish for this route, in their own currency. Vet and airline charges are not included.
- AVS import licence (personal), normal service
- SGD 50 per consignment
- Inspection without an e-bookingthe inspection was not booked in advance on AVS eServicesSource:National Parks Board — Animal & Veterinary Service (AVS) (opens official site: Importing dogs and cats)· checked 24 Sep 2026
- SGD 133 per hour
- Holding at CAPQ (e.g. overnight)
- SGD 35 per animal per day
- Cat/dog licence — one-time (lifetime) licencethe pet is sterilised
- SGD 35 per animal
Entry points
Where a pet may enter Singapore, per the rules.
- Airports: SINLand: Tuas CheckpointList as of 2026-09-24SIN (Changi) — inspection at CAPQ, Changi Airfreight Centre.Tuas Checkpoint — land arrivals from Malaysia.Seletar Airport, ferry terminals and the Changi passenger terminals have inspections only Mon–Fri 9am–4pm; not listed as entry points here.Source:National Parks Board — Animal & Veterinary Service (AVS) (opens official site: Importing dogs and cats)· checked 24 Sep 2026
Breed bans
Add the breed to your link (Edit route) and the checklist refuses a banned type.
- IMPORT BANPit Bull (American Pit Bull Terrier, also known as American Pit Bull / Pit Bull Terrier), American Staffordshire Terrier, Staffordshire Bull Terrier, American Bulldog, Neapolitan Mastiff, Tosa, Akita, Dogo Argentino, Boerboel, Fila Brasileiro, Perro de Presa Canario — and crossesExceptions: Part 1 Specified dogs already licensed in Singapore (unclear for a dog whose licence was cancelled on export)
Airlines
Airline rules are separate from entry rules and change without notice — confirm in writing when you book. Only what the carriers' own pages say, read 25 Sep 2026. All airlines
- Lufthansa LHCabinYesHoldYesSnub-nosedHold: no · Cargo: restricted
- Emirates EKCabinNoHoldYesSnub-nosedCargo: only Nov – Apr
- CabinNoHoldYes, up to 45 kg incl. crateSnub-nosedHold: not 1 May – 31 Oct
- Qantas QFCabinNoHoldCargo onlySnub-nosedNot stated
- CabinYesHoldNoSnub-nosedHold, cargo: no
- KLM KLCabinYes, up to 8 kg incl. carrier46 × 28 × 24 cmHoldYes, up to 75 kg incl. crateSnub-nosedHold: no
- Air France AFCabinYes, up to 8 kg incl. carrier46 × 28 × 24 cmHoldYes, up to 75 kg incl. crateSnub-nosedHold: no · Cargo: restricted
- CabinNoHoldCargo onlySnub-nosedCargo: restricted
- CabinNoHoldYes, up to 75 kg incl. crateSnub-nosedHold: restricted
Announced changes
- FROM 01 DEC 2026AQC quarantine fees rise to S$36 per day (fan) and S$44 per day (air-conditioned) from 1 December 2026.Source:National Parks Board — Animal & Veterinary Service (AVS) (opens official site: Animal Quarantine Centre)· checked 04 Oct 2026
Return trip to Australia
Hard for a returning pet (no separate returning-resident rule; standard import rules apply), about 26 weeks of preparation. Quarantine: at least 10 days at a government quarantine station.
- Residence period — 180+ days before departure: Lived in a Group 1 or Group 2 country since birth, or since export directly from Australia, or for at least 180 days since the official identity check and immediately before export.
- Import permit: Apply in BICON and pay in full on submission; most permits take 20–40 business days, up to 123; no expediting. Valid 12 months from grant and must be valid at export. Supporting evidence: the competent authority sends the identity verification directly to DAFF.
- Quarantine booking: Book the Mickleham post-entry quarantine stay online (Post Entry Biosecurity System) only after the permit is granted; part of the fee is paid at booking. The airline then sends an "OK to Forward" request to DAFF, which must be approved before the pet departs.
Source:Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry (DAFF) (opens official site: How to bring your dog to Australia from a Group 2 country)· checked 25 Sep 2026+1 more
Full checklist for a dog from Singapore to Australia
Leaving Singapore with the pet
- An AVS export licence is needed for every pet leaving Singapore (S$50 / S$100 express, valid 90 days); cancel the pet licence after export.
- Coming back is a new import: a Singapore pet returning from abroad must meet all import conditions of the schedule of the country it returns from (titer test and 90-day wait for Schedule II/III, 30-day AQC quarantine for Schedule III). Plan the titer test before leaving Singapore.
- For Schedule I/II countries the residence rule is relaxed for pets that left Singapore: "since being imported directly from Singapore" counts instead of 6 months (certificate Section II (b)).
Questions about Singapore
Answered in plain words from the authorities' own pages, each linked to its source.
01Do I need to book an appointment for my dog or cat to be inspected upon arrival?
Yes, an E-booking is required for all shipments that need inspection, including those with dogs and cats.
02How much does it cost to book an inspection appointment?
Booking, changing, or cancelling an inspection appointment is free.
03What happens if I forget to book an inspection appointment?
There is a penalty fee of SGD 133 per shipment if you do not have an E-booking.
04What are the inspection hours for pets arriving at the airport or ferry terminals?
At Changi passenger terminals, ferry terminals, and Seletar Airport, inspections are available from 9am to 4pm, Monday to Friday.
05What happens if my pet arrives at the airport outside of inspection hours?
Animals arriving outside the opening hours of the Changi Animal & Plant Quarantine (CAPQ) station will be kept overnight in an air-conditioned holding room provided by the Ground Handling Agents.
06Where can I book the inspection appointment?
Appointments are made through the National Parks Board (NParks) e-services portal.
07When are inspections conducted for pets arriving by sea?
For sea arrivals, inspections take place at the importer's premises from 8am to 12.30pm, Monday to Saturday.
What they actually checked at the border
Reports from people who made this trip, read by a person before publishing.
No traveller reports here yet. If you have made this trip, tell the next person what was actually checked at the border.
Share your tripSources
Every requirement above comes from one of these pages. Last researched 24 Sep 2026. Seen a change? Tell us.
- Veterinary Conditions for the Importation of Dogs/Cats for Countries/Regions under Schedule I (DOGCAT 83-1) (opens official site)National Parks Board — Animal & Veterinary Service (AVS) · used for: residence period, microchip, other vaccinations, parasite treatment, minimum age, health certificate, pet licence, advance notice to the authority, transport rules, arrival inspection, which origins the rule covers, quarantine, official fees, notes, this route · checked 04 Oct 2026 · document dated 2026-04-01
- Importing dogs and cats (opens official site)National Parks Board — Animal & Veterinary Service (AVS) · used for: rabies vaccination, import permit, customs declaration, transport rules, official fees, notes, entry points, this route, leaving with the pet · checked 24 Sep 2026 · document dated 2026-09-21
- Pet Ownership Course (opens official site)National Parks Board — Animal & Veterinary Service (AVS) · used for: pet ownership course, this route · checked 04 Oct 2026 · document dated 2026-03-05
- Importing Personal Pets as Part of a Change of Residence (opens official site)Singapore Customs · used for: customs declaration, this route · checked 04 Oct 2026 · document dated 2026-08-20
- With Personal Pets for Overseas Travel (opens official site)Singapore Customs · used for: customs declaration, this route · checked 04 Oct 2026 · document dated 2026-07-23
- Annex B — Changes to pet import clearance and CAPQ opening hours (starting 1 April 2026) (opens official site)National Parks Board — Animal & Veterinary Service (AVS) · used for: registered agent, this route · checked 04 Oct 2026
- Licence fees (cat and dog licences) (opens official site)National Parks Board — Animal & Veterinary Service (AVS) · used for: official fees, this route · checked 04 Oct 2026 · document dated 2026-09-01
- Veterinary Conditions for the Importation of Dogs/Cats for Countries/Regions under Schedule II (DOGCAT 83-2) (opens official site)National Parks Board — Animal & Veterinary Service (AVS) · used for: breed bans, leaving with the pet · checked 04 Oct 2026 · document dated 2026-04-01
- Animal Quarantine Centre (opens official site)National Parks Board — Animal & Veterinary Service (AVS) · used for: announced changes · checked 04 Oct 2026 · document dated 2026-07-03
- How to bring your dog to Australia from a Group 2 country (opens official site)Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry (DAFF) · used for: return trip · checked 25 Sep 2026 · document dated 2026-08-06
- Our facility — Post-Entry Quarantine Facility, Mickleham (booking, arrival windows, medication, release) (opens official site)Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry (DAFF) · used for: return trip · checked 25 Sep 2026 · document dated 2026-08-31
- Exporting dogs and cats (opens official site)National Parks Board — Animal & Veterinary Service (AVS) · used for: leaving with the pet · checked 04 Oct 2026 · document dated 2026-09-21
Keep this checklist
More routes
Checklists for nearby trips — same rules engine, same official sources.