BRINGING A DOG FROMAustralia to United Arab Emirates
Dog · Moving
Bringing a cat instead?No quarantine when the paperwork is in order. Needs import permit, non-commercial limits, microchip, rabies vaccination, other vaccinations, parasite treatment, health certificate, minimum age, route restrictions, transport rules and arrival inspection.
Always confirm with the destination's official authority and your airline before travelling.
Entry requirements
MOCCAE import permit (online, 1 working day), endorsed health certificate, microchip, rabies + core vaccines, parasite treatment within 14 days. No titer test, no quarantine. Max 2 pets per person per year.
Import permit issued in advance by MOCCAE through its website / digital-services account (online form and card payment; no documents to upload for pet dogs and cats). Issued in 1 working day (5 working days for service, emotional-support or medical dogs). Valid 90 days from issue; a pet cannot enter on an expired permit. USDA's page still says 30 days.
DETAILS +DETAILS −
Import permit issued in advance by MOCCAE through its website / digital-services account (online form and card payment; no documents to upload for pet dogs and cats). Issued in 1 working day (5 working days for service, emotional-support or medical dogs). Valid 90 days from issue; a pet cannot enter on an expired permit. USDA's page still says 30 days.
permit valid 90 days from issue (USDA says 30)
- “Issuance of Import permit prior to importation, issued through the MOCCAE web site (validity of permit is 90 days. It is not allowed to import pets with an expired import permit).” — Ministry of Climate Change and Environment (MOCCAE), checked 26 Sep 2026
An individual may import at most 2 pets per year (2 cats, 2 dogs, or 1 dog and 1 cat). Resident pets leaving and returning to the UAE do not count.
DETAILS +DETAILS −
An individual may import at most 2 pets per year (2 cats, 2 dogs, or 1 dog and 1 cat). Resident pets leaving and returning to the UAE do not count.
Permanent microchip; the number on the health certificate must match the implanted chip. MOCCAE names no ISO standard (the UK guidance says ISO 11784/11785 "normally").
DETAILS +DETAILS −
Permanent microchip; the number on the health certificate must match the implanted chip. MOCCAE names no ISO standard (the UK guidance says ISO 11784/11785 "normally").
Valid rabies vaccination given according to the manufacturer's instructions (validity = the manufacturer's stated duration); the first dose at 12 weeks of age or older. The UAE texts set no minimum interval before travel; the 21-day minimum comes from the certificates agreed with the US, Canada and the UK (see this rule's notes).
DETAILS +DETAILS −
Valid rabies vaccination given according to the manufacturer's instructions (validity = the manufacturer's stated duration); the first dose at 12 weeks of age or older. The UAE texts set no minimum interval before travel; the 21-day minimum comes from the certificates agreed with the US, Canada and the UK (see this rule's notes).
not in the UAE texts — from the Canadian, US and UK export certificates
Dogs: canine distemper, canine parvovirus, infectious canine hepatitis and leptospirosis. Leptospirosis may be replaced by a laboratory test if the exporting country does not vaccinate against it. (The US and Canadian certificates specify leptospirosis serovars Icterohaemorrhagiae and Canicola.)
DETAILS +DETAILS −
Dogs: canine distemper, canine parvovirus, infectious canine hepatitis and leptospirosis. Leptospirosis may be replaced by a laboratory test if the exporting country does not vaccinate against it. (The US and Canadian certificates specify leptospirosis serovars Icterohaemorrhagiae and Canicola.)
Treatment against internal and external parasites within the 14 days before shipment, recorded on the health certificate or in the pet passport. (UK certificate: external with fipronil or permethrin, internal with praziquantel.)
DETAILS +DETAILS −
Treatment against internal and external parasites within the 14 days before shipment, recorded on the health certificate or in the pet passport. (UK certificate: external with fipronil or permethrin, internal with praziquantel.)
Veterinary health certificate attested by the competent veterinary authority of the exporting country, with a statement that the animal was examined and showed no signs of disease; plus the vaccination record or pet passport showing microchip number, description (species, colour, sex, date of birth) and, for every vaccine, name, manufacturer, batch and date. MOCCAE states no validity period; the US, Canadian and UK certificates are valid 10 days from issue.
DETAILS +DETAILS −
Veterinary health certificate attested by the competent veterinary authority of the exporting country, with a statement that the animal was examined and showed no signs of disease; plus the vaccination record or pet passport showing microchip number, description (species, colour, sex, date of birth) and, for every vaccine, name, manufacturer, batch and date. MOCCAE states no validity period; the US, Canadian and UK certificates are valid 10 days from issue.
not stated by MOCCAE — validity of the Canadian, UK and US certificates
At least 12 weeks old on import (low-risk country).
DETAILS +DETAILS −
At least 12 weeks old on import (low-risk country).
Ship directly from the exporting country; if the pet passes through another country it must not mix with other animals in transit. The US and Canadian certificates carry an owner's declaration for this.
DETAILS +DETAILS −
Ship directly from the exporting country; if the pet passes through another country it must not mix with other animals in transit. The US and Canadian certificates carry an owner's declaration for this.
Transport in line with IATA rules for live animals (container). MOCCAE's texts do not say whether the pet must arrive as manifested cargo — see the US-only step below.
DETAILS +DETAILS −
Transport in line with IATA rules for live animals (container). MOCCAE's texts do not say whether the pet must arrive as manifested cargo — see the US-only step below.
On arrival: online release request and card payment (release fee 500 per dog, 250 per cat), visual inspection by MOCCAE at the port of entry, electronic release permit. Documents for release: customs declaration or bill of lading, vaccination record / passport, certified health certificate (and the titer certificate for high-risk countries).
DETAILS +DETAILS −
On arrival: online release request and card payment (release fee 500 per dog, 250 per cat), visual inspection by MOCCAE at the port of entry, electronic release permit. Documents for release: customs declaration or bill of lading, vaccination record / passport, certified health certificate (and the titer certificate for high-risk countries).
- The permit application itself needs no documents for pet dogs and cats (they are checked at release). — Ministry of Climate Change and Environment (MOCCAE)
- 21 days between rabies vaccine and departure: not in the UAE texts, but the Canadian certificate requires it for the rabies vaccination, the UK certificate for the initial one. — Canadian Food Inspection Agency (origin-country authority)
- The UK certificate requires the initial rabies vaccination more than 21 days before export. — Animal and Plant Health Agency, UK (origin-country authority)
- Health certificate validity 10 days: stated by the Canadian, UK and US certificates, not by MOCCAE. The clinical examination is within 24 hours of export on the UK certificate and within 5 days before departure on the Canadian one. — Canadian Food Inspection Agency (origin-country authority)
- UK certificate — clinical examination within 24 hours of export; certificate valid 10 days. — Animal and Plant Health Agency, UK (origin-country authority)
- MOCCAE's own page still says non-compliant pets are sent back at the importer's expense or confiscated (older wording than Resolution 21/2025). — Ministry of Climate Change and Environment (MOCCAE)
No quarantine when the paperwork is in order
If the pet does not meet the rules: Detained in a quarantine or pet shelter licensed by MOCCAE, at the owner's expense, until it is confirmed that it meets all the required conditions (Ministerial Resolution 21/2025); otherwise re-exported.
Timeline
Working out your dates…
Documents
One paper per requirement above; carry originals. 0 of 6 ready.
Official fees
Fees the authorities publish for this route, in their own currency. Vet and airline charges are not included.
- import permit
- AED 200 per animal
- release on arrival (dog)dog only
- AED 500 per animal
Entry points
Where a pet may enter the United Arab Emirates, per the rules.
- Airports: DXB, DWC, AUH, SHJ, RKTSeaports: Jebel Ali Port, Khalifa Port, Al Hamriya Port, Khalid Port, Fujairah PortLand: Khatm Al Shaklah, Mazyad, Al Ghuwaifat, Hatta, Khatm Al Malaha, Al DarahList as of 2026-09-24MOCCAE does not call this a list of designated entry points. The same list names a "WAM" centre that could not be identified. Fujairah and Al Ain airports are not on it.Sources disagree — confirm with the authority
- “Service channels - MOCCAE - Ministry of Climate change & Environment Website - Jabel Ali Port Center for Agricultural and Veterinary Quarantine - Ras Al Khaimah Airport Center for Agricultural and Veterinary Quarantine - Dubai Airport Cargo village Center for Veterinary Quarantine - Dubai Airport Free Zone Center for Veterinary Quarantine - Zayed Internatinal Airport Center for Agricultural and Veterinary Quarantine - Khalifa Port Center for Agricultural and Veterinary Quarantine - Khatm Al Shaklah Center for Agricultural and Veterinary Quarantine - Mazyad Center for Agricultural and Veterinary Quarantine - Al Guwaifat Center for Agricultural and Veterinary Quarantine - Hatta Center for Agricultural and Veterinary Quarantine - Al Maktoum Airport Center for Agricultural and Veterinary Quarantine - Al Hamriya Port Center for Agricultural and Veterinary Quarantine - Khalid Port Center for Agricultural and Veterinary Quarantine - Khatm Al Malaha Center for Agricultural and Veterinary Quarantine - Al Darah Center for Agricultural and Veterinary Quarantine - Sharjah Airport Center for Agricultural and Veterinary Quarantine - WAM Center for Agricultural and Veterinary Quarantine - Fujairah Port Center for Veterinary Quarantine” — Ministry of Climate Change and Environment (MOCCAE), checked 26 Sep 2026
Breed bans
Add the breed to your link (Edit route) and the checklist refuses a banned type.
- IMPORT BANStaffordshire Bull Terrier, American Pit Bull Terrier, American Staffordshire Terrier, American Bully, Brazilian Mastiff (Fila Brasileiro), Argentinian Mastiff (Dogo Argentino), Tibetan Mastiff, Neapolitan Mastiff, French Mastiff (Dogue de Bordeaux), Boerboel, Bullmastiff, Cane Corso (Italian Mastiff), Bully Kutta (Alangu Mastiff, Indian Mastiff), Perro de Presa Canario (Canary Mastiff), Japanese Tosa, Presa CanarioExceptions: service, emotional-support and medical dogs, with the documents listed under Good to know
- OWNERSHIP BANStaffordshire Bull Terrier, American Pit Bull Terrier, American Staffordshire Terrier, American Bully, Brazilian Mastiff (Fila Brasileiro), Argentinian Mastiff (Dogo Argentino), Tibetan Mastiff, Neapolitan Mastiff, French Mastiff (Dogue de Bordeaux), Boerboel, Bullmastiff, Cane Corso (Italian Mastiff), Bully Kutta (Alangu Mastiff, Indian Mastiff), Perro de Presa Canario (Canary Mastiff), Japanese Tosa, Presa CanarioExceptions: service, emotional-support and medical dogs (Annex 2 as replaced by Ministerial Resolution 190/2021)
- IMPORT BANStaffordshire Bull Terrier, American Pit Bull Terrier, American Staffordshire Terrier, American Bully, Brazilian Mastiff (Fila Brasileiro), Argentinian Mastiff (Dogo Argentino), Tibetan Mastiff, Neapolitan Mastiff, French Mastiff (Dogue de Bordeaux), Boerboel, Bullmastiff, Cane Corso (Italian Mastiff), Bully Kutta (Alangu Mastiff, Indian Mastiff), Perro de Presa Canario (Canary Mastiff), Japanese Tosa, Presa Canario — and crossesThis entry only adds crosses / hybrids of the banned breeds (USDA, UK certificate). MOCCAE's list does not mention crosses; the original 2016 annex did, the 2021 replacement dropped the wording.Sources disagree — confirm with the authority
- “Any mixed breed of above breeds or their hybrid” — USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (origin-country authority), checked 04 Oct 2026
Airlines
Airline rules are separate from entry rules and change without notice — confirm in writing when you book. Only what the carriers' own pages say, read 25 Sep 2026. All airlines
- Lufthansa LHCabinYesHoldYesSnub-nosedHold: no · Cargo: restricted
- Emirates EKCabinNoHoldYesSnub-nosedCargo: only Nov – Apr
- CabinNoHoldYes, up to 45 kg incl. crateSnub-nosedHold: not 1 May – 31 Oct
- Qantas QFCabinNoHoldCargo onlySnub-nosedNot stated
- CabinYesHoldNoSnub-nosedHold, cargo: no
- KLM KLCabinYes, up to 8 kg incl. carrier46 × 28 × 24 cmHoldYes, up to 75 kg incl. crateSnub-nosedHold: no
- Air France AFCabinYes, up to 8 kg incl. carrier46 × 28 × 24 cmHoldYes, up to 75 kg incl. crateSnub-nosedHold: no · Cargo: restricted
- CabinNoHoldCargo onlySnub-nosedCargo: restricted
- CabinNoHoldYes, up to 75 kg incl. crateSnub-nosedHold: restricted
Transit and stopovers
- Transit: no permit is needed for air transit at the same airport (or sea transit at the same port) if the animal stays isolated from other animals; crossing UAE territory needs a prior MOCCAE transit permit, a rabies vaccination record and the destination country's import permit. — Ministry of Climate Change and Environment (MOCCAE)
- A pet crossing the UAE in transit is classified by rabies risk like an imported one — so from a high-risk origin the transit consignment needs the titer test as well (MOCCAE service page). Animal-welfare rules apply. — Ministry of Climate Change and Environment (MOCCAE)
Return trip to Australia
Hard for a returning pet (no separate returning-resident rule; standard import rules apply), about 30 weeks of preparation. Quarantine: at least 30 days at a government quarantine station.
- Rabies antibody (titer) test — the blood draw must happen before you leave, so plan it into the outbound trip: Rabies neutralising antibody titre test (RNATT): blood taken by a government approved vet in an approved country, tested by FAVN or RFFIT at a lab recognised by the export country's government (can be in another approved country); result ≥0.5 IU/ml. Sample taken between 12 months and 180 days before export; export no earlier than 180 days after the sample ARRIVES at the lab (no exceptions). Valid 12 months from sampling — retest before expiry (sample must reach the lab within 12 months of the first) to avoid restarting the 180 days. English lab report on the testing lab's letterhead.
- Waiting period — 180+ days after the lab receives the sample: Export no earlier than 180 days after the RNATT blood sample arrives at the laboratory — no exceptions (a residency period, not quarantine). Counted from the lab's receipt date, not the sampling date.
- Residence period — 180+ days before departure: Continuously resident in an approved country (or countries) for at least 180 days immediately before export; a stay in a non-approved country restarts it. Quarantine time in the approved country does not count.
- Import permit: Apply in BICON after the RNATT declaration, uploading the RNATT lab report and declaration (and the identity declaration or Australian export certificate for the 10-day quarantine); pay in full on submission. Most permits take 20–40 business days, up to 123. Valid until the RNATT expires (12 months from blood sampling) and must be valid on arrival.
- Quarantine booking: Book Mickleham PEQ online after the permit is granted (partial payment at booking); airline "OK to Forward" approval before departure.
Source:Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry (DAFF) (opens official site: How to bring your dog to Australia from a Group 3 country)· checked 25 Sep 2026+3 more
Full checklist for a dog from United Arab Emirates to Australia
Leaving United Arab Emirates with the pet
- MOCCAE issues a veterinary health certificate for export after examining the animal; valid 30 days from issue. Keep it — a resident pet needs it to come back without being treated as a first import.
- Online request and card payment, then a physical examination (and laboratory tests if the destination asks for them); the certificate is issued electronically in 1 working day.
- The export certificate is issued in 1 working day.
- Fee for up to 2 pets travelling for personal purposes — 100 (AED; the page prints no currency).
- Neither the destination's import permit nor a certificate of origin is needed for the MOCCAE export certificate of a dog or cat (unless the destination country asks for them); bring any extra test reports the destination requires.
- No certificate of origin for dogs and cats unless the destination country requires one.
- Reports of any additional tests the destination requires are attached to the request.
What they actually checked at the border
Reports from people who made this trip, read by a person before publishing.
No traveller reports here yet. If you have made this trip, tell the next person what was actually checked at the border.
Share your tripSources
Every requirement above comes from one of these pages. Last researched 26 Sep 2026. Seen a change? Tell us.
- Import of pets (cats / dogs) — service details, English (MOCCAE pet import service page, service code 122-003-008-000) (opens official site)Ministry of Climate Change and Environment (MOCCAE) · used for: import permit, arrival inspection, which origins the rule covers, quarantine, official fees, notes, entry points, this route, breed bans, transit · checked 26 Sep 2026 · document dated 2026-09-25
- Ministerial Resolution No. (109) of 2021 regarding regulating import of cats and dogs (English text published by MOCCAE) (opens official site)Ministry of Climate Change and Environment (MOCCAE) · used for: non-commercial limits, microchip, rabies vaccination, other vaccinations, parasite treatment, health certificate, minimum age, route restrictions, transport rules, this route, transit · checked 26 Sep 2026 · document dated 2021-04-28
- Export of dogs and cats to United Arab Emirates + Veterinary Health Certificate HA2839 (opens official site)Canadian Food Inspection Agency (origin-country authority) · used for: rabies vaccination, health certificate, notes, this route · checked 04 Oct 2026 · document dated 2026-06-09
- استيراد حيوانات الرفقة (قطط / كلاب) — تفاصيل الخدمة (MOCCAE pet import service page, Arabic, service code 122-003-008-000) (opens official site)Ministry of Climate Change and Environment (MOCCAE) · used for: which origins the rule covers, this route · checked 04 Oct 2026 · document dated 2026-09-23
- Ministerial Resolution No. (21) of 2025 amending Ministerial Resolution No. (109) of 2021 (English text published by MOCCAE) (opens official site)Ministry of Climate Change and Environment (MOCCAE) · used for: quarantine, this route · checked 26 Sep 2026 · document dated 2025-01-20
- Export cats and dogs to the United Arab Emirates (UAE) — certificate 3926EHC v8 and notes for guidance 3926NFG (opens official site)Animal and Plant Health Agency, UK (origin-country authority) · used for: notes, this route · checked 24 Sep 2026 · document dated 2026-05-06
- Federal Law No. (22) of 2016 regulating the possession of dangerous animals (English) (opens official site)UAE Government portal u.ae (Ministry of Justice text) · used for: breed bans · checked 04 Oct 2026 · document dated 2016-12-12
- Pet Travel From the United States to United Arab Emirates (opens official site)USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (origin-country authority) · used for: breed bans · checked 04 Oct 2026 · document dated 2025-07-30
- How to bring your dog to Australia from a Group 3 country (opens official site)Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry (DAFF) · used for: return trip · checked 25 Sep 2026 · document dated 2026-02-20
- Pet Travel From the United States to Australia (exporting-country authority; corroboration only) (opens official site)U.S. Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) · used for: return trip · checked 04 Oct 2026 · document dated 2026-07-27
- Rabies vaccination and tests for cats and dogs coming to Australia (opens official site)Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry (DAFF) · used for: return trip · checked 25 Sep 2026 · document dated 2025-02-26
- Cats and dogs frequently asked questions (opens official site)Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry (DAFF) · used for: return trip · checked 25 Sep 2026 · document dated 2026-07-01
- Request for a veterinary health certificate for exporting or re-exporting live animals — MOCCAE service page, English (service code 122-003-005-000) (opens official site)Ministry of Climate Change and Environment (MOCCAE) · used for: leaving with the pet · checked 26 Sep 2026 · document dated 2026-09-25
Keep this checklist
More routes
Checklists for nearby trips — same rules engine, same official sources.